PRIDE on a Mission

“Oh, sure I know PRIDE Industries. Their busses pick up a man who lives in our apartment complex every day.”

“Sure, I know PRIDE – they clean the building where I work.”

“PRIDE Industries – don’t they do something with people with disabilities?”

When I first told friends and family that I was going to be working for an organization called PRIDE Industries Foundation, these are the responses I got. People had heard of PRIDE – but they weren’t quite sure what we did.

Well, I want to share with you what PRIDE does, because I think what we do is pretty darn important.

So who am I? My name is Tricia, and I’m the new Development Director for PRIDE Industries Foundation. I joined the PRIDE team in December, and I’m having a blast getting to know PRIDE and the great work we do.

So what do we do, exactly? We create jobs for people with disabilities. And we provide the supports people with disabilities need to succeed in employment.

Why do we do this? Because stable employment is unavailable for far too many people with disabilities. Right now, only 18% of the 27 million working age adults with disabilities are employed. Compare that with 63% of individuals with no disability. In part due to unemployment, the annual poverty rate for people with disabilities is 21%.  That’s nearly twice the national average.

So, as I get to know PRIDE Industries, the people we serve and the people behind the scenes who make our work happen, I’ll share what I learn with you. That way, the next time you see a PRIDE bus, you’ll know that it is taking people with disabilities all over the greater Sacramento area to jobs and other needed services, and the next time you see the PRIDE cleaning crew at your office, you’ll know that supports the creation of jobs for people with disabilities.

Stay tuned!

One thought on “PRIDE on a Mission

Leave a Reply

